• Agnes

Reviews! Thank you!

Updated: May 20



Top reviews

Top review from Australia

*****

Mimi Bunderla 5.0 out of 5 stars child abuse Reviewed in Australia on 3 February 2021Verified Purchase This is an inspirational book about a child abuse back in the 1960s and 1970s. I thoroughly enjoyed reading about Michaels experiences, and try to become the man he is today. Great reading :)

Top reviews from the United States

***** Jessica Hosey 5.0 out of 5 stars The best book I have read in a while Reviewed in the United States on February 4, 2021Verified Purchase This is a must read book! Thank you for sharing you life with us! If you write another book please let me know! ***** Beverly Dean 5.0 out of 5 stars Terrifying and humorous! LOVED it! Reviewed in the United States on February 2, 2021Verified Purchase A well written book of one man's account from childhood through adulthood dealing with the aftermath of physical and sexual abuse and PTSD. ***** ShanesGirl13 5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Must Read! Reviewed in the United States on January 30, 2021Verified Purchase If you're part of the LGBTQ+ community, a victim or survivor of abuse, Michael, Little Boy Black and Blue is a must-read. You will laugh at the precocious toddler and cry with the child growing up in an abusive environment. You will follow Michael as he goes through the grieving process for the child he was, the love he lost, and as he searches for a way to heal. I couldn't put this book down once I started it. I wanted to know what happened to the adorable toddler and follow his journey to the man he is today.


Top review from United Kingdom

***** Polly 5.0 out of 5 stars Raw and real account. Totally recommend. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on 5 February 2021Verified Purchase I read this book in super fast time as I couldn’t put it down. Well done Michael for having enormous courage to publish such a real and raw account of your life. There were some laughs and some tears. The detailed descriptions of observations made about people coming from a very young child were delightful. Which helped somewhat with the other parts to read. Your life has been quite extraordinary. It is written with photos throughout which bring it more to life for the reader. I definitely recommend this book.


*****

Andrea Collum 5.0 out of 5 stars A True Survivor's Story Reviewed in the United States on February 13, 2021Verified Purchase I ordered the book on Kindle as soon as it was available, and then ordered the paperback, too. I read it in one sitting. My emotions ran the gamut from profound sadness to joy, anger to happiness. Michael Hunter's recount of his life is a must read for survivors of abuse as well members of the LGBTQ community and allies. He tells of his life from an idyllic early childhood to current times and bares his life and soul to those of us who take this ride with him. His is the story of ultimate survival, after a lifetime of pain and suffering, and leaves us knowing that we can be battered, but never broken.

***** Klabak1 5.0 out of 5 stars A long road to recover Reviewed in the United States on March 28, 2021Verified Purchase How we survive our life is a testament of our strength. The author demonstrates through his memories a will to survive and a strength beyond what any 5 year old should have or need. I shed tears off and on through this book for not just the child but for the man that he became. Thank you for sharing your story Michael.

***** Becky 5.0 out of 5 stars A sad yet uplifting story of survival Reviewed in the United States on February 12, 2021Verified Purchase This book is winding journey. Sad and horrific stories yet there is a resilient hopeful and positive hope. It read very therapeutic for the Author as well as the reader.

***** Connie Ness 5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing story of survival and perseverance. Reviewed in the United States on March 26, 2021Verified Purchase Heartwarming to Unbelievable...a journey of survival. I could not put it down once I started. I smiled and giggled at the toddler...I cried for the lost innocence. I applaud the courage it takes to share your life story with us. I love and respect the man you have become. A must read!! ***** STACEY WELLS 5.0 out of 5 stars Survival Reviewed in the United States on April 6, 2021Verified Purchase This is amazing survival story. My brother was authors first love. ***** Kelly 5.0 out of 5 stars One definitely not to miss. Reviewed in the United Kingdom on March 5, 2021Verified Purchase I literally couldn't put this book down. Beautifully and so bravely written, poignant and hugely touching, Michael Little Boy Black & Blue sheds a bright light on the nightmare that is living with CPTSD and the horrendous abuse that so often goes on silently and untold. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

***** Janie Higgins 5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read Reviewed in Canada on February 8, 2021Verified Purchase A well-written book~brutally honest but tinged with humour. You will want to read "Michael Little Boy Black & Blue: Surviving the Effects of a Poisonous Child Abuser" in one sitting. Highly recommend!


#LGBTQChildAbuse #GayChildAbuse #ComplexPTSD #AdultSurvivor #GayAuthor #michaelhuntermcvay #MichaelMcVay #LGBTQ+ #complexPTSD #GayAuthor #GayWriter #LGBT #GayMan #ChildAbuse #AdultSurvivor #PleaseBuyMyBooks #MichaelMcVay #michaelhuntermcvay #queerbookstagram #lgbtbookstagram #queerreads #lgbtreads #queer #queerbooks #gaybooks #bookreview #bookrecommendations #gayromance #bookcommunity #kindle #kindleunlimited #kindlebooks #diversity #bookish #loveislove #lgbtqia #instagay #livrestagram #lgbt #lgbtpride #lgbtbooks #gay #PTSD #palmsprings #meridianms #writer #author #gaylove #gayberlin #gaydude #schwule #gaymen #🏳️‍🌈 #lovegay #schwulundstolzdrauf #gayinsta #gayinstagram #miniature #dollhouseminiatures #oneinchscale #dollhousesofinstagram #dollhouse #lovelylittleminiatures #miniaturist #meetthemaker #miniature #onetwelthscale #dollshouse #dollshouseminiatures #scalemodels #dollshousedecor #diorama #roomboxes #fantasyminiatures #handmadeuk #miniworld #tinyworld #puppenhaus #instadaily #instaart #gay #lgbt #instagay #loveislove #queer #palmsprings


 
Michael Hunter McVay's books on Goodreads